Property Taxes in Atlanta Counties

by mccance on November 1, 2010

Your relocation to Atlanta game plan should include a look at your county options.

The county you reside in can have a large and long term impact on quite a few things including your property taxes, school districts, location (obviously) and senior tax exemptions.

It’s one of the items that’s very easy to investigate and consider because depending on your tolerance for commutes, you will typically only be able to consider between two or maybe three counties.

The five large counties north of Atlanta are Cobb, Cherokee, Forsyth, North Fulton and Gwinnett. Property taxes across just those five can vary widely.

Based on a $500k home, here are the tax rates for those counties:

County Annual Tax Monthly Tax
Forsyth County $4,345 $362
Cherokee County $5,087 $424
Cobb County $5,712 $476
Gwinnett County $6,163 $514
N. Fulton County $6,607 $551

As you can see, there’s nearly a $200/month difference between North Fulton and Forsyth County, which by the way are separated by a single road, McGinness Ferry!

Both have excellent school systems and access to the same shops, stores, parks, etc. and are both off the GA 400 corridor.

When relocating to Atlanta, make sure take a look at the county!